Our Reviewers

Review committees are another important part of our scholarship process. Students at Illinois are fortunate to have numerous exceptional faculty and staff devoted to our cause. Committee members spend hours reviewing applications, engaging with candidates in interviews, and providing insightful feedback to assist in the revision process.

Following is a list of our 2016-2017 scholarship committee members. We greatly appreciate all those who served this past year!

2016-2017 Marshall Priority Review Committee

  • Monica Fountain-Assistant Director, iWriteADream Foundation
  • Tony Leggett-Professor, Physics
  • Chris Macklin-Assistant Professor, Music

2016-2017 Schwarzman Priority Review Committee

  • Mei-Po Kwan-Professor, Geography
  • Dave Rosch-Assistant Professor, Agricultural Leadership Education

2016-2017 Marshall, Mitchell, and Rhodes Interview Committee

  • Monica Fountain-Assistant Director, iWriteADream Foundation
  • Jon Higdon-Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Tony Leggett-Professor, Physics
  • Chris Macklin-Assistant Professor, Music
  • Doug Spaniol-Professor, Music, Butler University

2016-2017 Marshall Scholarship Mock Interview Committee

  • Andrea Beller-Professor Emerita, ACES
  • Jon Higdon-Professor, Chemical  & Biomolecular Engineering
  • Fred Lamb-Research Professor, Physics
  • Soo Lee-Professor, Food Science & Human Nutrition
  • Chris Macklin-Assistant Professor, Music
  • Bruce Michelson-Emeritus Professor, English
  • Peter Orlean-Professor, Microbiology
  • Cathy Prendergast-Professor, English
  • Penny Soskin-Former Assistant Dean, LAS
  • Dave Tewksbury-Professor, Communication

2016-2017 Gates Interview Committee

  • Nigel Goldenfeld-Professor, Physics
  • James O'Dwyer-Assistant Professor, Plant Biology

2016-2017 Luce Interview Committee

  • Sam Chadwick-Civil Engineering, Former Luce Scholar
  • Anne Burkus-Chasson-Associate Professor, East Asian Languages & Cultures
  • Bob Tierney-Associate Professor, East Asian Languages & Cultures

2016-2017 Goldwater Endorsement Committee

  • Greg Girolami-Professor, Chemistry
  • May Berenbaum-Professor, Entomology
  • David Lange-Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
  • Susan Tolman-Associate Professor, Mathematics

2016-2017 Truman Interview Committee

  • Jerry Soesbe-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Penny Soskin-Assistant Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences-Retired
  • Gayle Spencer-Director, Illinois Leadership Center
  • Tracy Sulkin-Professor, Political Science

2016-2017 Mock Truman Interview Committee

  • Peter Buckley-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Antoinette Burton-Professor, History
  • Brian Gaines-Professor, Political Science
  • John Jordan-Retired Executive Director, YMCA
  • Craig Koslofsky-Professor, History
  • Bruce Michelson-Professor Emeritus, English
  • Amanda Purnell, Associate Director, LAS
  • Jamie Thomas-Ward-Director, Pre-Law Services

2016-2017 Fulbright Priority Review Committee

  • Rosemary Admiral-Former Fulbright Recipient
  • Jenny Amos-Teaching Associate, Bioengineering
  • Ruopeng An-Assistant Professor, Kinesiology & Community Health
  • Amber Dunse-Lecturer, Linguistics
  • Duncan Ferguson-Professor Emeritus, Comparative Biosciences
  • Gretchen Forman-Lecturer & Academic Coordinator, Intensive English Institute
  • George Gasyna-Associate Professor, Slavic Languages & Literature
  • Christine Huh-Teaching Assistant, Intensive English Institute
  • Jin Kim-Lecturer, Linguistics
  • Sotiria Koloutsou-Vakakis-Research Scientist, Civil Engineering
  • Wanne Kromdijk-Postdoctoral Research Associate, Institute for Genomic Biology
  • Jorge Lemus Encalada-Assistant Professor, Economics
  • Sherban Lupu-Faculty Emeritus, Music
  • Rajeev Malik-Director, Office of Vice Chancellor for Institutional Advancement
  • Martin Manalansan-Associate Professor, Anthropology
  • Parthiban Muniandy- Lecturer, LAS Administration
  • Sebnem Ozkan-Outreach Coordinator, European Union Center
  • Kimberly Powers-Academic Advisor, Division of General Studies
  • Julie Ann Prentice-Intensive Learning Institute
  • Christopher Prom-Professor, Library
  • Jeffery Roesler- Professor, Civil Engineering
  • Cassandra Rosado-Lecturer, ESL Writing Program
  • Norma Scagnoli-Director of eLearning, College of Business
  • Lawrence Schook-Professor, Animal Sciences
  • Dan Shao-Associate Professor, East Asian Languages & Cultures
  • Rafael Tinoco Lopez-Assistant Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering
  • Laura Valderrama Sepulveda-Graduate Student, Curriculum and Instruction

2016-2017 Fulbright Interview Committee

  • Cynthia Buckley-Professor, Sociology
  • Kai-Wing Chow-Professor, East Asian Languages & Cultures
  • James Dobbins-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Zsuzsanna Fagyal-Associate Professor, French & Italian
  •  Alain Fresco-Assistant Professor, French & Italian
  • Karen Fresco-Associate Professor, French & Italian
  • Peter Fritzsche-Professor, History
  • Yelena Grinkova-Research Specialist in Life Sciences, Biochemistry
  • Florencia Henshaw-Director of Advanced Spanish Language, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Joy Huang-Assistant Professor, Recreation, Sport, and Tourism
  • Karen Hilgeman-Senior Lecturer, Intensive English Institute
  • Norbert Huether-Lecturer, Intensive English Institute
  • Laurie Johnson-Associate Professor, Germanic Languages & Literatures
  • Irene Koshik-Associate Professor, Linguistics
  • Eric Larson-Assistant Professor, Natural Resources & Environmental Sciences
  • Mimi Nguyen-Associate Professor, Gender and Women's Studies
  • Naomi Paik-Assistant Professor, Asian American Studies
  • Yoon Pak-Associate Professor, Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Nuno Ribeiro-Assistant Professor, Recreation, Sport and Tourism
  • Mike Silvers-Assistant Professor, Music
  • Darren Tanner-Assistant Professor, Linguistics
  • Marina Terkourafi-Professor, Linguistics
  • Xun Yan-Assistant Professor, Linguistics
  • James Yoon-Professor, Linguistics

2016-2017 Beinecke Endorsement Committee

  • Rob Barrett-Associate Professor, English
  • Jeff Mondak-Professor, Political Science
  • Audrey Sistler-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

2016-2017 Udall Endorsement Committee

  • Bev Herzog-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Bob Lacey-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Jon Liebman-Professor Emeritus, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • John McKinn-Associate Director, American Indian Studies Program
  • Jerry Soesbe-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute

2016-2017 Boren Endorsement Committee

  • Peter Buckley-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Janice Jayes-Osher Lifelong Learning Institute
  • Elizabeth Rockman-Associate Director, Campus Honors Program
  • Angela Williams-Associate Director, Center for South Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

You can view a list of our past scholarship reviewers here.